Skip to content

Pt. II-The Negative Half Metaphor and No Homo.

January 13, 2011

Yeah. Firstly, Pause for that whole video. I, personally do use and prefer the term “pause” over the vastly more popular “no homo”. What can I say, I appreciate subtlety and “pause” (||) hearkens back to a more innocent time in history and hip hop culture when most white people didn’t know what the fuck we were talking about. Made popular by Harlem-ites Camron and Dipset, the phrase “no homo” has made its rounds in hip hop circles and is now (hopefully) on its way out. It also gave rise to the method I call the “negative half metaphor”. Our last article was about the half metaphor. Logically you would assume that the negative half metaphor was a spawn of the half metaphor. In actuality, the negative half metaphor is a direct result of the popularity of “no homo”. Explain? Of course I will…

Half metaphor(HM):
“Coming down the street like a parade…Macy’s” Ludacris-“My Chick Bad”(Shout out to Dewan)

Negative Half Metaphor(NHM):
“We don’t play when we roll…No Yahtzee/And I hate you niggas…No Nazi” Fabolous- “The Wake”

“Cause I’m a star… No Spangled Banner.”- Drake- “Light Up”

So while the NHM is a direct opposite of a HM it is obviously derived from the phrase “no homo”, only instead of denying the homosexuality of the previous phrase, the word “homo” is replaced with whatever word is actually being compared to the previous line. In that sense the NHM is actually ironic because a metaphor is EXACTLY what it is. Another related method is the old school “But I ain’t talking bout…” or “But I don’t mean”. For example…

“Y’all appointed me to bring rap justice/But I ain’t five-O, y’all know it’s Nas yo” Nas- “Made You Look”

“I got them hawks I ain’t talking bout the peach state” Nicky Minaj- “Up All Night”

The Negative Half Metaphor accomplishes the same as “I ain’t talking bout” but with less. BTW Fabolous COMPLETELY wears the negative half metaphor out on last summer’s mixtape “There is No Competition II”. Despite his heavy handed use of the NHM it may still be my favorite mixtape of 2010. As always leave your favorite instances of the NHM in the comments.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

